• Archive

Association of Southeast Asian Nations

Fostering economic growth in Southeast Asia

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) unites ten nations (Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Viet Nam) to foster political stability and economic development in the region. That two-fold mission is reflected in the ASEAN Web site, which has a wealth of information on trade agreements, legal issues, and its own summits. For managers doing business with these countries, the "Economic Cooperation" section provides practical tools to assist with timely issues such as customs procedures and cyberlaws. The "Doing Business in ASEAN " section includes information on investment in each member country. For those seeking to gather market information, there are macroeconomic, trade, transport and communication statistics (not always the most current, but often up to 1999).